AT&T, Sprint & T-Mobile Users Can Dial **LAWYERS
We are Criminal Defense Lawyers that Assist People Charged with Grand Theft and Petit Theft in Florida
What is Theft?
In Florida, theft is used to describe a variety of property crimes, including: larceny, stealing, misappropriation, conversion, and other offenses. In general, theft involves the unauthorized taking or use of another person’s property.
Types of Theft in Florida
There are generally two types of theft charges in Florida, petit theft and grand theft. In some states petit theft, is also known as petty theft.
Proving a Charge of Theft in Florida?
In a theft case, the prosecutor must prove several elements of the crime.
- Defendant’s specific intent to take or use property belonging to another person.
- Intent to temporarily or permanently deprive the owner of possession or use of the property.
- Criminal intent at the time when the defendant took or attempted to take the property.
Penalties for Theft in Florida
The type of theft determines whether the state will prosecute an offense as a misdemeanor or a felony. The type of theft often depends on the value of the property.
- Property valued $100 to $300; if the property the defendant took is from a place other than a dwelling or home, the charge increases to petit theft in the first degree.
- Property valued between $300 and $20,000 is grand theft in the third degree.
- Property valued between $20,000 and $100,000 is grand theft in the second degree.
- Property valued over $100,000 is grand theft in the first degree.
Grand theft in the first degree also occurs when a defendant causes over $1,000 in damage to property while carrying out the theft.
Penalties for Theft in Florida
Petit theft is a second degree misdemeanor with a sentence of imprisonment for up to sixty (60) days and a fine up to $500. If the defendant has a prior conviction for petit theft, the state may elevate the charge to a higher degree misdemeanor or even a felony.
Grand theft is a second degree felony punishable with up to fifteen (15) years and a fine up to $10,000. Grand theft in the first degree is a first degree felony punishable up to thirty (30) years and a fine up to $10,000.
Early Negotiation is Critical in a Possession of Weapon Defense in Florida
Early contact in the criminal process communicates competence, resolve, and establishes a rapport that may be needed during future negotiations.
Call us even before you are charged if possible. We may be able to avoid charges being filed.
We will make early contact with the prosecutor to present factual defenses, legal issues, and mitigating circumstances that may have a dramatic impact on the State’s decision to move forward against you.
We also happen to be Florida criminal law attorneys.
We are Miami Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach criminal defense lawyers.
Our Florida criminal lawyers represent clients charged with theft crimes in Broward County, Miami Dade County, and Palm Beach County.
We can help you.
We handle criminal law cases and theft crime defense cases Florida.
We want to hear your story, and share ours.