Aggravated Battery Criminal Defense
AT&T, Sprint & T-Mobile Users Can Dial: **Lawyers
We are Florida Aggravated Battery Criminal Defense Lawyers.
In certain cases of aggravated battery you may be facing up to 25 years in prison.
We understand the stress and total life upheaval that comes with serious criminal charges because we’re people that have been in your shoes.
We also happen to be criminal aggravated battery defense lawyers in Broward county, Dade County and Palm Beach County.
Our Florida criminal defense attorneys will be there when you need us because we know exactly how you are suffering. Before becoming a lawyer, a partner at our firm was wrongfully charged with racketeering. It was not until three years of stress, worry and sleepless nights that he was exonerated.
When you become our client at our firm, you get a partner’s cell phone number. Not an answering service number, his actual cell phone number.
It’s the same number that his mother uses to reach him.
Your Criminal Battery Defense Lawyer in Palm Beach, Broward and Miami Dade County.
The crime of Aggravated Battery is defined under Section 784.045, Florida Statutes. Under Florida law, aggravated battery occurs where a defendant intentionally touches or strikes another person and, intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to the alleged victim; or uses a deadly weapon; or they battered a person whom the defendant knew or should have known was pregnant.
Required Proof at a Trial for Criminal Aggravated Battery in Florida
To prove the crime of Aggravated Battery at trial, the prosecution must establish two elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
- The defendant intentionally touched or struck the victim against the victim’s will, or intentionally caused bodily harm to the alleged victim; and
- In intentionally striking or causing bodily harm, the defendant intentionally or knowingly: (a) caused great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to the alleged victim, or (b) used a deadly weapon or (c) knew the victim was pregnant.
What is a “Deadly Weapon” in Florida in a Criminal Aggravated Battery Defense?
A weapon is considered a “deadly weapon” if it is used or threatened to be used in a way likely to produce death or great bodily harm.
Penalties for Criminal Aggravated Battery in Florida
Under Florida law, Aggravated Battery is generally classified as a second degree felony. Penalties include up to 15 years in prison or 15 years of probation, and up to $10,000.00 in fines.
Florida Criminal Enhancements for Firearms
If a firearm is present, upon conviction Florida’s 10-20-Life Law will mandate the imposition of the following minimum mandatory sentences:
- Firearm in possession during the incident: Minimum term of imprisonment of 10 years.
- Automatic or semiautomatic firearm in possession during the incident: Minimum term of imprisonment of 15 years.
- Firearm discharge during incident: Minimum term of imprisonment of 20 years.
- Firearm discharged and death or great bodily harm during the incident: Minimum term of imprisonment of 25 years.
Defenses to Aggravated Battery
Facts and circumstances surrounding your case may dictate additional defenses. However, there are many defenses that our Florida aggravated battery criminal defense lawyers will use to contest a charge of aggravated battery in Florida.
Certainly not nearly an exhaustive list, some of the more common defenses include self-defense, stand your ground law, defense of others, consent or mutual combat, alibis, lack of intent to touch or strike, no intent to cause great bodily harm, disfigurement, and the instrument or object used during the incident is not a “deadly weapon” within the meaning of the statute.
We will zealously defend your freedom and rights to the fullest extent of the law.
We’re changing the way people think about lawyers.
We understand the life-changing worry, aggravation, fear and stress that accompany charges of criminal aggravated battery in Florida because we’re people.
We also happen to be Florida criminal aggravated battery attorneys.
We can help you.
Our Florida criminal aggravated battery lawyers serve clients in Palm Beach County, Broward County, Miami Dade County, and most other Florida cities and counties.
We handle criminal aggravated battery arrests and charges in Palm Beach, Broward, Miami Dade County and throughout Florida.
We want to hear your story, and share ours.